2013 Nobel Prize Announcements

<Prev Next>
Prize Announcements

The 2013 Nobel Prizes in Peace, Literature, Chemistry, Physics, Physiology or Medicine and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel as well as the Ig-Nobel Prizes have been announced!

While you're here, why not also read about past winners.

N.B. The time of the announcement is given in Stockholm time (Central European Time); subtract 6 hours to get the US Eastern Daylight Time).

    Date: Thursday, October 10, 2013 (13:00 p.m. CEST)
    Awarding institution: The Swedish Academy
    And the prize goes to...

    Alice Munro
    master of the contemporary short story.

    Date: Wednesday, October 9, 2013 (11:45 a.m. CEST at the earliest)
    Prize: CHEMISTRY
    Awarding institution: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
    And the prize goes to...

    Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt, and Arieh Warshel
    for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems.

    Date: Tuesday, October 8, 2013 (11:45 a.m. CEST at the earliest)
    Prize: PHYSICS
    Awarding institution: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
    And the prize go to...

    François Englert, and Peter W. Higgs
    for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider.

    Date: Thursday, September 12, 2013 (7:30 pm EDT)
    Awarding institution: The Annals of Improbable Research
    And the winners are:

    Announced here

[ Back to The Nobel Prize Internet Archive ]
[ Literature * Peace * Chemistry * Physics * Economics * Medicine ]

Become a Sponsor of the Nobel Prize Internet Archive!
We always welcome your feedback and comments.
Copyright © 1996-2013 Ona Wu. All rights reserved.